Why I’m Unplugging for a WEEK!

I was watching a Ted talk yesterday about a woman who went off technology for a year. I had also listened to Simeon Sinek video about technology and our generation. These videos made me realize that I am addicted to my phone. Technology in general.  Most people are, but I didn’t want to be. I deleted a few social media apps on my phone that I was spending way to much time on and decided to do something. I am going to try an experiment. I’ve heard unplugging has some great benifits and I want to try! Here are the rules to my experiment that will start tomorrow and last until Friday. Since my friend and I are in school, these rules are based on our schedules. Feel free to alter them to yours.

(Also watch this hilarious video from Rhett and Link about getting off your phone.)

  1. When you wake up in the morning, the phone/device can’t be the first thing you look at. You may turn off your alarm, but you have to get up, walk around, use the bathroom, etc. first.
  2. Do not bring your phone/device to any of your classes. That’s right! You have to leave them in your locker and keep them unaccessible. (This will be hard because our classes are an hour and a half!)
  3. You may only check/be on your phone/device for 15 minutes during lunch. Engage with your friends, don’t be checking social media. 
  4. Your phone/device cannot be the last thing you do before you go to sleep. Read a book, excersize, pray or anything except your phone. Set your alarms ahead of time.
  5. You may use your phone/device after school, but only for an hour and a half. This includes Youtube videos, texting, snapchatting, whatever!

A friend will be doing this together. I reccomend having a friend to do it with. We will reflect on our experiences each day:)

Join us and write your experiences with #nophonesforaweek. Become UNPLUGGED!

Help others along their great journey.

Eliza 

4 Comments

    1. Awesome!! Please share so we can get as many as people on board! I’m definitely excited to hear your thoughts. Ahhh very great point! I honestly don’t think so, I know sometimes that I end up having it too. I just think it needs to be strictly homework/blogging. 🙂
      Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

Have an idea? Comment Below!

