DIY Ombre Mason Jar Organizer

What a cute project! I had fun making it so, let me tell YOU how to make one!

{What you’ll need}:

-Acrylic Paints {White and whatever other colors}

-5 Mason jars {The rounded kind works the best}

-Paint brushes {I used the square kind}

~Painting~

Step #1: Once you’ve gathered everything and picked out 5 colors, it’s time to paint! Paint the base color from the bottom down for about 1/3 {I only did 3 different shades, and you can do as many as you want. That will determine how far you go down the jar each shade} of the jar.  It will take 2-3 coats.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
1st coat

Step #2-Once dried, I just added a bit of white to the existing hole in the paint pallette. Then paint that lighter shade beneath the base color. Continue this until the entire mason jar is painted. I actually waited for them to completely dry and then I did a second coat so you could see the ombre.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Lighter Coat. It is hard to see on the camera…
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Finished! I did have to do some touch-ups once they were all completely dry.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
I think the green showed up the best and was one of my favorites!

~Assembly~

Step #3- Once jars are painted and dried, take 3 and hot glue them together. To do that, hot glue each side {except for the outside ends} and stick them together. After that, take the two remaining jars and glue them together by gluing a strip on the inside side.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
The three jars
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
The last jar to the trio
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
The two remaining jars

Step #4- Stand up all the cups and make sure the bottoms are even. Then, glue a strip down the middle section on each of the two jars and put them on top of the 3.*Optional, tie a piece of ribbon around the whole thing.

~Fill each cup with your stuff!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
You can have it laying down {which I prefer} or…
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
…..standing up!

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial! Overall, it took a little bit longer to make, but I think it’s a unique organizer that is way cute 🙂

Comment below on what other DIY’s you want me to do! Also, if you recreate this, let me know! I’d love to see your spin on this cool DIY.

–{Eliza}–

2 Comments

  1. That’s so neat! I love painting Mason jars! I love he colors you picked. Have you ever used painted Mason jars as a flower vase?

    Like

Have an idea? Comment Below!

